5 Helpful Reminders for Students Returning Home for Break

Let’s be honest, how many of us have returned home for winter break, and realized that we completely forgot something that is crucial to our everyday lives? I’ll be honest, I am definitely guilty of doing so, because I know that I have forgotten my phone charger, and my dorm keys at school back in the day when I WAS irresponsible. In order to prevent students from getting locked out of their dorms, getting their Smart TVs stolen, or stranded at gas stations because they forgot their wallets, I thought I would write a short to do list to remind everyone to take a second to double check everything before you head home.

1. Unplug your refrigerator, and turn off the lights

This applies to off-campus residents, and those who live in the dorms. Students who live in residence halls will be fined if they don’t unplug their refrigerators, and off-campus residents will risk the opportunity to save some money on an electric bill, if they don’t take action. The moral of the story is, we could all use a few extra dollars in our pockets, and we can make that happen by unplugging, and turning off.

2. Lock all windows and doors, and take home all of your valuables

This applies to applies mainly to off-campus residents, because those living in dorms have staff members who will lock windows and doors for them. According to the OUPD, “thieves are very aware that many of our community members will soon be away and see this time as an opportunity to find easy targets.” That means, that if you have something valuable like jewelry, a flat screen television, or laptop, don’t take your chances, bring it with you!

3. Return Rented Textbooks, and Sell back books

Don’t forget to return the textbooks you rented, because you will be charged the full price for the book if you fail to do so! If you have not rented any books, and are looking to make some extra cash, stop by a book store uptown, or one of the stands that offers to buy back your books.

4. Remember to pack the little, but important things: wallet, phone chargers, computer chargers, toothbrush, makeup bag, hair straightener, house or dorm keys, etc.

I don’t know about you, but when I start to see my phone fade to five percent battery, and I don’t have a charger, I panic! I have been known to leave things behind in the past, and it just makes life a little harder, so make sure to double check that you pack all of the essentials.

5. Drive Safely!

For those of you who are driving home, remember that Ohio weather is unpredictable, so be prepared for anything to happen, like traffic, a snowstorm, etc. Make sure that you have enough gas to get yourself home, and that you have back up directions in case, your phone of GPS loses power. I hate that I have to say that, but we all know how prevalent technology is in this day in age.

Lastly, happy holidays bobcats!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

